2017 NPSL Golden Glove Award Announced

The National Premier Soccer League (NPSL) is proud to announce FC Arizona goalkeeper Andrew Weber as the recipient of the 2017 NPSL Golden Glove award.

“I am honored to receive this award,” Weber commented. “It would not have been possible without the team that sacrificed day in and day out and the commitment of the coaching staff to make this a winning team. I also want to thank my family for always being there for me and pushing me to be the best I can be. I want to thank the league, teams, players, and staff who competed this year and those who continue to help the NPSL. Last but not least, I want to thank FC Arizona and our dedicated fans. Without fans, sports are nothing. Our fans were amazing and they were with us every step of the way.”

Weber played in 16 matches, finishing with 13 clean sheets in 1,440 minutes of play.

Weber is no stranger to the professional game, having played eleven seasons in the United Soccer League (USL) and Major League Soccer (MLS) with D.C. United, Montreal Impact, San Jose Earthquakes, Phoenix FC, Seattle Sounders FC, and Portland Timbers. He has competed in the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, CONCACAF Champions League, and MLS Cup, winning the latter as a member of the Timbers in 2015.

“Delighted for Andrew to receive this award,” FC Arizona head coach Aidan Davison commented. “He is a top-class keeper with a proven pedigree at the highest level of soccer in the USA. Weber makes goalkeeping look easy which is an art n itself. His consistency has been a joy to watch. We also need to mention defending is a team effort and hard work. This is not only a tribute to Andrew, but the whole team for a disciplined season.”

A four-year starter at the University of New Mexico from 2001-04, Weber finished his collegiate career as their career leader in several goalkeeping categories, including games played (83), minutes played (7,681), wins (50), saves (350), and shutouts (25). He was a three-time all-conference and two-time all-region performer for the Lobos in addition to being named the MPSF Goalkeeper of the Year (2002).

Other Articles

League News