The National Premier Soccer League (NPSL) is proud to announce that the 2014 regular season schedules for the North Atlantic and Keystone Conferences will be released this week.

Schedules will be made available on the team websites and social media accounts.

The North Atlantic Division will include Brooklyn Italians (Brooklyn, NY), New York Athletic Club (New York, NY), New York Red Bulls U23 (Harrison, NJ), Rhode Island Reds FC (Providence, RI), Seacoast Phantoms (Portsmouth, NH), Seacoast Mariners (Portland, ME), and Greater Lowell United FC (Lowell, MA).

“We’re quite excited by this schedule as it introduces new team Greater Lowell United FC to our fans, while preserving our budding rivalries between New England and New York teams,” Rhode Island Reds FC owner Kabba Joof remarked.

The Keystone Conference will include BuxMont Torch FC (Perkasie, PA), Clarkstown SC Eagles (W. Nyack, NY), Electric City Shock (Scranton, PA), Greater Binghamton FC Thunder (Binghamton, NY), Hershey FC (Hershey, PA), Junior Lone Star FC (Philadelphia, PA), FC Lehigh Valley United Sonic (Lehigh Valley, PA), and Pocono Snow SC (East Stroudsburg, PA).

David Weitzman, head coach for the defending Northeast Region champions FC Lehigh Valley United Sonic, expressed his excitement for the upcoming season.

“I’m excited about the 2014 season because of the great competition each team brings to each match.  Many of the matches are decided by one goal, and the battle for the first and second place playoff spots usually runs late into the season.”

Greater Binghamton FC Thunder General Manager Bill Arno added his own thoughts on the conference.

“The Keystone Conference will most certainly continue its presence on the national stage as one of the most competitive conferences in the NPSL. The teams are all expecting to finish the season at the top of the table and 2014 promises to be an exciting year for all of the teams and their loyal fans.”

The Northeast Region playoff format will include the first place and second place teams from each of the three conferences (North Atlantic, Mid-Atlantic, and Keystone). The first place teams will be seeded using the NPSL formula for seeding playoff teams. The second place teams will also be seeded using the NPSL seeding formula.

The top two seeded first place teams will receive a bye for the first round of the playoffs. The other four teams will play on July 12, with the two lowest seeded teams playing at the location of the higher seeded teams.

The winners of the first round playoff will play on July 16 at the teams that received a first round bye. The Northeast Region Championship will be played on July 19 at the highest seeded team.

The NPSL is a national league that operates in the 4th Division of the U.S. Soccer pyramid. NPSL teams are eligible to participate in the U.S. Open Cup through their affiliation with the U.S. Soccer Federation (USSF) and the United States Adult Soccer Association (USASA).  The NPSL is the fastest-growing national soccer league in North America, operating in 80+ markets across the country. Two Major League Soccer (MLS) clubs (D.C. United and the New York Red Bulls) and four North American Soccer League (NASL) clubs (Minnesota United, Carolina Railhawks, Atlanta Silverbacks, Oklahoma City FC) operate teams in the NPSL.  Mitre USA recently signed a multi-year agreement to become the league’s Official Match Ball Sponsor.

Other Articles

League News
U.S. Open Cup