2018 U.S. Open Cup

About the U.S. Open Cup

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup is the oldest ongoing national soccer competition in the U.S. The 2018 edition was contested by 94 clubs from professional and amateur leagues. The NPSL entered the tournament-proper in the First Round, while Major League Soccer entered at the Fourth Round. The overall champion earned a total of $300,000 in prize money, while the runner-up received $100,000, and the furthest-advancing team from each division received $25,000. In addition, the tournament winner qualified for the group stage of the CONCACAF Champions League.

Qualification for the U.S. Open Cup varies by league. The NPSL chose to use results from the 2017 season to determine seedings for the 2018 U.S. Open Cup. There were a total of 22 NPSL teams that participated in the 2018 U.S. Open Cup’s tournament proper.

Participating NPSL Teams

AFC Ann Arbor
Brooklyn Italians
CD Aguiluchos USA
Dakota Fusion FC
Detroit City FC
Duluth FC
Elm City Express
Erie Commodores FC
FC Motown
FC Wichita
Fort Worth Vaqueros FC
Inter Nashville FC
Jacksonville Armada FC
Kingston Stockade FC
Kitsap Pumas
Miami FC 2
Miami United FC
Midland-Odessa Sockers FC
New Orleans Jesters
New York Cosmos
Orange County FC

Teams advanced thru Fourth Round: 1

Teams advanced thru Third Round: 3

Teams advanced thru Second Round: 8

Teams advanced thru First Round: 9

Teams advanced thru Play-in Round: 1