2020 U.S. Open Cup

About the U.S. Open Cup

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup is the oldest ongoing national soccer competition in the U.S. The 2020 edition was to be contested by 100 clubs from professional and amateur leagues, but the tournament was cancelled due to COVID-19. The NPSL was to enter the tournament-proper in the First Round, while Major League Soccer was to enter at the Third & Fourth Rounds.

Qualification for the U.S. Open Cup varies by league. The NPSL chose to use results from the 2019 season to determine seedings for the 2020 U.S. Open Cup. There were a total of 14 NPSL teams to participate in the 2020 U.S. Open Cup’s tournament proper.

Participating NPSL Teams

ASC San Diego
Atlantic City FC
Cleveland SC
Crossfire Redmond
Denton Diablos FC
FC Arizona
FC Davis
FC Motown
Fort Worth Vaqueros FC
Med City FC
Minneapolis City SC
Naples United FC
Tulsa Athletic
West Chester United SC

Teams entering in First Round: 14